Уилсон Гаан

США

18.02.1930 - 21.11.2019

Писатель, карикатурист.

 

Гаан Аллен Уилсон, 18 февраля 1930 г., родился в Эванстоне, штат Иллинойс , и был вдохновлен работами сатирических карикатуристов Mad and Punch и научно-фантастическими фильмами 1950-х годов. Его карикатуры и прозаические произведения регулярно появлялись в Playboy , Collier’s и The New Yorker на протяжении почти 50 лет. Он публиковал карикатуры и обзоры фильмов,  для The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction . С 1992 года и до конца публикации он подготовил все обложки для ежегодной книги Passport to World Band Radio . Уилсон был обозревателем фильмов в журнале The Twilight Zone Magazine.и книжный критик журнала Realms of Fantasy .

Уилсон написал и проиллюстрировал рассказ для антологии Харлана Эллисона « Again, Dangerous Visions» (1972). Он также публиковал рассказы в других изданиях; в том числе «M1» и «The Zombie Butler», оба из которых появились в «The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction» и были перепечатаны в «Cracked Cosmos» Гахана Уилсона (1975).  В 1975 году он разработал небольшой трофей, бюст Г. П. Лавкрафта ,  для вручения победителям World Fantasy Award ; бюст был снят с производства после вручения наград 2015 года на фоне жалоб на расистскую историю Лавкрафта,  новая награда с изображением дерева на фоне полной луны вышела в 2017 году.

Уилсон вместе с Байроном Прейссом создал компьютерную игру Gahan Wilson’s The Ultimate Haunted House . В 1992 году он написал короткометражку «Diner» .

В 2009 году Fantagraphics Books выпустили Gahan Wilson: 50 Years of Playboy Cartoons , трехтомный сборник мультфильмов и рассказов Уилсона для этого журнала в футляре. Сборник его работ Fifty Years of Gahan Wilson был опубликован в 2010 году.

Награды:

В 2005 году Уилсон был отмечен наградой World Fantasy Awards за заслуги. Он получил премию World Fantasy Convention (в виде бюста Лавкрафта, который он разработал в качестве наградного трофея в 1975 году) в 1981 году. Он также получил награду Милтона Каниффа за заслуги перед Национальным обществом карикатуристов в 2005 году.

Уилсон является героем полнометражного документального фильма « Gahan Wilson: Born Dead, Still Weird» режиссера Стивена-Чарльза Джаффе .

Он оказал влияние на более поздних альтернативных карикатуристов, включая Гэри Ларсона , Джона Каллахана и Билла Плимптона .

 

В 2019 году пасынок Уилсона Пол Уинтерс объявил, что Уилсон страдает прогрессирующей деменцией . Уилсон умер от осложнений деменции 21 ноября 2019 года в Скоттсдейле, штат Аризона .

 

Источник: Wikipedia, 2019

 

 


Добавить комментарий

3 × два =

Wilson Gahan

United States

18.02.1930 - 21.11.2019

Writer, cartoonist.

 

Gahan Allen Wilson, 18 February, 1930, was born in Evanston, Illinois, and was inspired by the works of satirical cartoonists Mad and Punch and science fiction films of the 1950s. His cartoons and prose works have appeared regularly in Playboy, Collier’s and The New Yorker for almost 50 years. He has published cartoons and film reviews, for The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction. From 1992 until the end of publication , he prepared all the covers for the annual Passport to World Band Radio book . Wilson has been a film reviewer for The Twilight Zone Magazine. and book critic for Realms of Fantasy magazine.

Wilson wrote and illustrated the story for Harlan Ellison’s anthology “Again, Dangerous Visions” (1972). He also published short stories in other publications; including M1 and The Zombie Butler, both of which appeared in The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction and were reprinted in Gahan Wilson’s Cracked Cosmos (1975).  In 1975 , he designed a small trophy, a bust of H. P. Lovecraft , to be presented to the winners of the World Fantasy Award ; The bust was discontinued after the 2015 awards amid complaints about Lovecraft’s racist story, a new award featuring a tree against a full moon was released in 2017.

Wilson , along with Byron Preiss , created the computer game Gahan Wilson’s The Ultimate Haunted House . In 1992, he wrote the short film “Diner”.

In 2009, Fantagraphics Books released Gahan Wilson: 50 Years of Playboy Cartoons, a three-volume collection of Wilson’s cartoons and short stories for this magazine in a case. A collection of his works Fifty Years of Gahan Wilson was published in 2010.

Awards:

In 2005, Wilson was awarded the World Fantasy Awards for Merit. He received the World Fantasy Convention Award (in the form of a bust of Lovecraft, which he designed as an award trophy in 1975) in 1981. He also received the Milton Caniff Award for Services to the National Cartoonists Society in 2005.

Wilson is the hero of the feature-length documentary “Gahan Wilson: Born Dead, Still Weird” directed by Stephen-Charles Jaffe.

He influenced later alternative cartoonists including Gary Larson , John Callahan , and Bill Plimpton .

 

In 2019, Wilson’s stepson Paul Winters announced that Wilson was suffering from progressive dementia. Wilson died from complications of dementia on 21 November, 2019 in Scottsdale, Arizona.

 

Reference: Wikipedia, 2019


Leave a Reply

three × 5 =