Лурье Ранан

Нью-Йорк, США

Карикатурист

Родился в 1932-м году в Израиле. Лурье обучался изящным искусствам в Иерусалиме и Париже. Он рисовал политические карикатуры для израильской прессы ещё в 1948-м и быстро укрепил свою репутацию. К тому времени ему было 30, его считали национальным карикатуристом Израиля, отражающего взгляды большинства своих сограждан.

В 1968-м начинает работу журнале Life, рисуя еженедельные карикатуры, для чего переезжает в Соединённые штаты и поселяется в Нью-Йорке. В дополнение к его карикатурам для Life (до закрытия журнала в 1973-м) он сотрудничал с Paris-Match, Wall Stree Journal и New York Times и др. Его ежедневная политическая рубрика, Luna´s Opinion на протяжение долгого времени была синдицирована United Feature Syndicate, а позже распространялась King Features. Также  Лурье иллюстрировал книги, истории. Quadrangle Books опубликовало два сборника его карикатур: Nixon Rated Cartoons (1973) и Pardon Mo, Mr. President (1973).

Лурье является ветераном двух войн на среднем востоке (1946 и 1967), но его проживание в США не ослабило его патриотизма. Его экстравагантный стиль карикатуры, прямые и откровенно партизанские заголовки принесли ему также много противников, как и поклонников.

Мировая энциклопедия карикатуры, 1981


Добавить комментарий

девятнадцать − 7 =

Lurie Ranan

 

Cartoonist

Israeli cartoonist born in 1932 to a sixth-generation Israeli family whose members were among the first settlers in the country. Ranan Lurie studied fine arts in Jerusalem and Paris. He drew political cartoons for the Israeli press as early as 1948 and established his reputation quickly. By the time he was 30, he was regarded as Israel’s national cartoonist, reflecting the views of the majority of his fellow citizens.

In 1968 Lurie was contracted by Life magazine to draw a weekly editorial cartoon, and he moved to the United States, settling in New York City. In addition to his cartoons for Life (which he drew until the magazine folded in 1973), he has contributed to Paris-Match, the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times, among others. His daily political cartoon panel, Luna’s Opinion, was syndicated for a long time by United Feature Syndicate and is now distributed by King Features. Lurie has illustrated books and stories, and two collections of his cartoons have been published by Quadrangle Books: Nixon Rated Cartoons (1973) and Pardon Mo, Mr. President (1973).

Lurie is a veteran of two Middle East wars (1946 and 1967), and his U.S. residency has not dampened his patriotism. His style, caricatural and even outre, and his captions, direct and unabashedly partisan, have won him as many detractors as admirers. He is an influence to be reckoned with, however, in the fiercely competitive world of political cartooning.

the World Encyclopedia of Cartoons 1981


Leave a Reply

four × five =